New Release April 2020: Sophie Tassignon presents Mysteries Unfold

“I believe that artists exist to feel the emotions of the world, and to allow those emotions to pass through them in order to express them in a different form. My goal is simply to touch other human beings and transport them to a moment out of time, just as in a moment of infatuation where nothing else exists besides the present moment and beauty.”

Sophie Tassignon

The haunting strains of a distant melody, the resplendent majesty of an angelic choir; the echoing cries of circling birds, the thundering clomp of charging hoofbeats; the menace of an ominous growl, the soul-stirring chime of a tolling bell, the urgency of a percussive rhythm: Sophie Tassignon conjures all of these with only that most beautiful, boundless and mysterious of instruments, the human voice.

On her first solo album, Mysteries Unfold, the Belgian-born, Berlin-based vocalist transcends time and language to explore and evoke a stunning panoply of human emotion.

Along with four striking original compositions, the vocalist performs pieces by Baroque composer Antonio Vivaldi, country songwriter Dolly Parton, Russian bard Yuliy Chersanovich Kim, and folk-rock band Cowboy Junkies.

Harmonies that harken back to Gregorian chants coexist with bold, modern electroacoustic experimentation, primal vocalizations with luxurious melodies, yet all sound of a piece through the vessel of Tassignon’s virtuoso vocals.

Sophie Tassignon : voice, electronics

Mysteries Unfold

1.         Gubi Okayannie
2.         Jolene
3.         Don’t Be So Shy With Me
4.         Descending Tide
5.         Witches
6.         La Nuit
7.         Cum Dederit
8.         Mysteries Unfold

Tracks 3,4,6 & 8 by Sophie Tassignon (SABAM)
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Gubi Okayannie by Kim Yuliy Chersanovich
Jolene by Dolly Rebecca Parton
Published by Apple Velvet Music / Concord Music Publishing
Witches by Michael Timmins & Margo Timmins
Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Cum Dederit by Antonio Vivaldi

All songs arranged by Sophie Tassignon, except Jolene arranged by Sophie Tassignon and Anu Junnonen

Recorded by Sophie Tassignon in Berlin, Germany
Mixed by Christian Heck at Tonart Studio, Kerpen, Germany Mastered by Andy Krehm at Silverbirch Mastering, Toronto, Canada

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo
Artwork by ROK

Release Date : April 24th,  2020

Full Press Release : Click Here

Cat. No. : 

RNR119 (CD) 

  • No products in the cart.