New Release February 2020: Bobby Previte, Jamie Saft an Nels Cline present ‘Music From The Early 21st Century’

“There are so many different genres and sonic spaces interacting even within a single tune, which is very much a function of the mastery of Bobby Previte and Nels Cline.”

Jamie Saft

When future generations listen back to the sounds of this still young millennium, what music will remain to define the era? Master improvisers Bobby Previte, Jamie Saft and Nels Cline make their bid for immortality with Music From the Early 21st Century, their venturesome new album due out on the 28th of February 2020 on RareNoise.

While hardly representative of the hits streaming through the Bluetooth ether these days, Music From the Early 21st Century is nonetheless aptly titled, colliding as its does entire threads of musical history leading up to the very moment of its explosive creation.

The album, captured live during a brief tour of the Northeastern U.S. in early 2019, is essentially a freely improvised organ trio set. But filtered through the lens of these three encyclopedically eclectic masters, it morphs continually from one prismatic hybrid of styles to another throughout its ten carefully curated pieces.

The cover image speaks to the concept behind the music: known as the Hubble Legacy Field, the breathtaking photo taken by the Hubble Space Telescope captures the earliest image yet of our universe, revealing nascent galaxies at a moment just a little more than half a billion years after the Big Bang.

The awe-inspiring notion of witnessing the birth of everything we know, still evident in our modern reality, echoes the musical evolutions that ripple through the trio’s creations.

Bobby Previte – drums
Jamie Saft – Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes, MiniMoog
Nels Cline – electric guitar, effects

Music From The Early 21st Century

1. Photobomb
2. Paywall
3. Parkour
4. The Extreme Present
5. Totes
6. Occession
7. The New Weird
8. Machine Learning
9. Woke
10. Flash Mob

All music written by Bobby Previte, Jamie Saft and Nels Cline
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Recorded by Vin Cin at Quinn’s (Beacon, NY), Club Helsinki (Hudson, NY), Elk Creek Café (Milheim, PA) and Nublu (New York, NY) – May 9th -12th 2019

Produced by Bobby Previte and Jamie Saft

Mixed by Jamie Saft at Potterville International Sound, NY
Mastered by Vin Cin at Electric Plant, NY

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo
Art and Design by Graham Schreiner

Release Date : February 28th,  2020

Full Press Release : Click Here

Cat. No. : 

RNR115 (CD) 

  • No products in the cart.