New Release October 2019: Lorenzo Feliciati and Michele Rabbia present Antikythera

Following such visionary projects as 2015’s evocative KOI, 2017’s powerhouse prog-rock outing Elevator Manand 2018’sTwinscapes II: A Modern Approach to the Dance Floor (with fellow bassist Colin Edwin), Italian bassist-producer-arranger and RareNoise recording artist Lorenzo Feliciati joins forces with fellow countryman, master drummer Michele Rabbia, on Antikythera.

Named for an ancient Greek mechanism that was used to predict astronomical positions and eclipses for calendar and astrological purposes, Feliciati’s seventh recording as a leader for RareNoise traverses a myriad of moods, from graceful and haunting soundscapes to dramatic crescendos to intimate piano trio pieces, while showcasing his remarkable facility on fretted and fretless basses, keyboards, electric guitar and samples.

Special guests on Antikythera include trumpeter Cuong Vu, saxophonist Andy Sheppard, Italian pianists Rita Marcotulli and Alessandro Gwis and Feliciati’s Naked Truth and Mumpbeak bandmate, keyboardist Roy Powell.

“I think Antikythera can be viewed and experienced as a psychedelic album of sorts, as it does possess the qualities of a trip.”

Lorenzo Feliciati
Artwork by Ian Anderson (The Designer’s Republic)

Lorenzo Feliciati : Electric Fretted and Fretless bass, Keyboards, Samples and Soundesign, Electric Guitar.
Michele Rabbia : Drums and Electronics


Cuong Vu : Trumpet on tracks 4/5
Andy Sheppard : Sax on tracks 2/8
Rita Marcotulli : Acoustic and prepared piano on tracks 2/5/8
Alessandro Gwis : Acoustic Piano and Reaktor generated electronics on tracks 1/6
Roy Powell : Hammond Organ, Moog and keyboards on track 7

1. Irregular Orbit
2. 223 Teeth
3. Corrosion
4. Prochronistic
5. Sidereal
6. Perigee
7. Apogee
8. Parapegma

All compositions by Lorenzo Feliciati and Michele Rabbia
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Lorenzo Feliciati
Tracks 1,3,4,6,7 recorded at Elefante Bianco Studios, Rome by Raimondo Mosci
Tracks 2,5,8 recorded at Studio Elettra, Calvi dell’Umbria (Tn) by Pasquale Minieri
Mixed and Mastered by Lucrezio de Seta at Groove Studio-Rome

Artwork and Design by Ian Anderson for The Designers’ Republic

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2019

Full Press Release : Click Here 
Cat. No. : 

RNR112 (CD) 

  • No products in the cart.