New Release September 2019: Led Bib presents It’s Morning

From the Homeric invocation of ethereal opener “Atom Story,” it becomes stunningly clear that It’s Morning, the latest album from the uncategorizable UK ensemble Led Bib, is meant to take the listener on a journey.

The wide-ranging and evocative set is also a testament to the distance the band has travelled on its own evolutionary path. If not the endpoint, it at least sits at a far-flung guidepost along a transformative odyssey undertaken by the eclectic ensemble.

© Matt Crossick

Led Bib has long been renowned for its skronky, livewire fusion of exploratory jazz improvisation with the brute force of heavy rock and the labyrinthine architecture of prog. It’s Morning retains an identifiable sense of adventure and virtuosity while marking a vast departure from previous recordings, veering into the realm of elusive, poetic narrative and lysergic beauty.

Image © Jonathan Wilkinson

The most immediately apparent change from past Led Bib outings is the addition of vocals, folding the band’s boundary-stretching vocabulary into gorgeous if complex song forms. The band’s core line-up – drummer Mark Holub, bassist Liran Donin, saxophonists Chris Williams and Pete Grogan, and new keyboardist Elliot Galvin – are joined by a pair of gifted vocalists: Sharron Fortnam, a co-founder of the North Sea Radio Orchestra whose intoxicating mezzo soprano has also graced recordings by the noted British prog-punk band Cardiacs; and Jack Hues, best known as frontman for the 80s new wave band Wang Chung.

It’s Morning – a Film by Dylan Pecora

Tracklisting and Personnel

Sharron Fortnam – vocals
Chris Williams – alto saxophone
Pete Grogan – alto and tenor saxophone
Elliot Galvin – keyboards and piano
Liran Donin – bass, backing vocals on track 2
Mark Holub – drums

Also featuring: 
Jack Hues – vocals 
Susanna Gartmayer – bass clarinet
Irene Kepl – violin
Noid – cello

1. Atom Story – 2:47
2. Stratford East – 5:32 *
3. It’s Morning –  0:39 *
4. Fold – 11:08
5. Cutting Room Floor – 3:54 **
6. To Dry In The Rain –  6:43
7. O – 4:40
8. Flood Warning – 3:30
9. Set Sail – 1:28 *

All music by Led Bib 

All lyrics by Sharron Fortnam except * by Jack Hues and ** by Jack Hues and Sharron Fortnam

Recorded by Giles Barrett at Soup Studios, London  on 10th – 12th July 2018.
Additional recording by – Jim Barr at J & J Studio, Bristol on 9th  August, 2018.
Mixed by Chris Janka at Janka Industries Studios, Vienna  on  8th – 12th December 2018
Mastered by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering on February 11th  2019
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo


RNR108 (CD)
RNR108LP (Gatefold Vinyl – heavyweight)

Full Press Release : Click Here 

  • No products in the cart.