New Release March 2019: Sean Noonan presents Tan Man’s Hat

A drummer and composer whose music enthusiastically defies category, Sean Noonan prefers the title “Rhythmic Storyteller” – an apt description for a modern-day sonic griot who spins imaginative yarns in the ancient tradition of wandering minstrels while weaving captivating narrative tapestries via his unique polyrhythmic language. On Tan Man’s Hat, the second release by his harmolodic jazz-rock ensemble Pavees Dance, Noonan draws inspiration from the soul to the stars with his stunningly adventurous collaborators: original Can vocalist Malcolm Mooney, bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma (Ornette Coleman’s Prime Time), guitarist Ava Mendoza (Unnatural Ways) and keyboardist Alex Marcelo (Yusef Lateef).

Tan Man’s Hat confronts the listener with a vibrant, shocking swirl of sound, a dauntless tempest of varied influences: prog rock and avant-garde classical create sparks from clashes with harmolodic improvisation and African folk traditions, with jolting infusions of psychedelia and campfire tales. The band also thrives on its blend of generations, with experimental elders Mooney and Tacuma passing a still-blazing torch to their cutting-edge compatriots.

The End of The Inevitable
Martian Refugee

Tracklisting & Personnel

1. Boldly Going
2. Gravity and the Grave
3. Tell Me
4. Martian Refugee
5. Turn Me Over
6. Tan Man’s Hat
7. The End of the Inevitable
8. Girl from the other world
9. Winter Inside

Malcolm Mooney                    vocals
Jamaaladeen Tacuma            bass
Ava Mendoza                         guitar
Alex Marcelo                          keyboards
Sean Noonan                         drums/vocals/compositions

Produced by Sean Noonan and Guenter Janovsky

All music composed by Sean Noonan (except track 8 composed by Guenter Janovsky and arranged by Sean Noonan).

Lyrics by Malcolm Mooney and Sean Noonan on tracks 1,4,5
Lyrics by Malcolm Mooney on tracks 2,3,6,7
Lyrics by Malcolm Mooney and Guenter Janovsky on tracks 8,9

Recorded August 8-9, 2018 at Atlantic Sound Studios, Brooklyn NY Diko Shoturma
Michal Kupicz mixing mastering
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Artwork by Malcolm Mooney

Cat. No. : 

RNR106 (CD) 

  • No products in the cart.